In the year 1993, 6 districts of Azerbaijan were occupied by the Armenian armed gangs: Kelbajar, Aghdam, Jabrail, Fizuli, Gubadli, and Zangilan. The Later three were occupied in August of the same year Fizuli is one of the biggest agricultural districts of the Republic. Its territory makes 1386 square kilometers, population by the time of the occupation made around 100 thousand people. The town was renamed Fizuli in 1959 on the occasion of the 400th birthday anniversary of poet Muhammed Fizuli. There were several industrial and construction enterprises and quarry operating in the district. Fuzuli farmers worked in soil tilling, viticulture, cattle breeding, silk worm breeding and cotton-growing.
There were 70 libraries, 20 cultural houses, 45 clubs, people’s and state drama theatre, 13 hospitals, 2 museums, stadiums, 65 state farms, and collective-farms, 12 farmer farms in Fizuli. The Museum’s unique rarities pertaining to the Paleolithic include a detail of a jaw of the Asykhan thropos who lived 300-350 thousand years ago, which was discovered in 1968 in the Asykh cave near Fizuli. Fertile and beautiful natures of Fizuli district were rich with historical monuments as well.
The unique cara vansary built in 1684 was located at Gargabazar lolity, Haji Giyasaddin mausoleum and mosque built in 1682, Ahmedalilar, Babids and Mirali mausoleums, Asykh and Taglah caves were located in the district. Cravanserai constructed in 1684 in Fizuli district, and also hundreds of monuments in the territory of Nagorno-Garabagh are subjected to Armenian. There was a mosque of Haji Alekper, mosques in the villages of Gochakbmedi and Gargabazar related to XVIII century, Sheykh Baba Yagub mausoleum related to XVIII century, great member of ancient cemeteries in Fizuli.